The Sloth finishes stuff – Q1 2017

empties-header

Background image from freepik

In my first Finish 17 in 2017 post, I mentioned that I wanted to use up my products so that when I moved over to the mat’s place I won’t have to lug a ton of half/quarter/sorta used things with me (also less judgement, seeing how he looks bewildered when I tell him that my dad built a shoe cabinet because we couldn’t fit all our shoes in the store room anymore…the main culprits are my mom and I surprise surprise). What I didn’t mention (I think?) is how freaking slow I use things up unless they are face moisturizer and shampoo. Everything else takes so long it’s great for my bank account, not so great if I hate the product or if I want to try new things.

That’s right, sloth-y in all aspects of my life, including finishing up my makeup and beauty products.

So last year, with this in mind, I bought a lot of deluxe sample sized stuff in sets during the Black Friday sales. I figured that was the best course of action for me because 1) I won’t spend an eternity trying to finish up a body scrub 2) I get to try a variety of products instead of throwing my money at something expensive and then realizing that I hate it or it doesn’t work for my skin.

I need to remind myself to do that in the future – unless I know I want the full size, of course – because I’ve never used up so many items in 3 months in my life. This a post to remind myself that yo, you take so long to use up things stop buying so much stuff. And also for reference in the future if I forgot whether I liked something or not. And also if something really sucks I would like to tell all of you not to waste your money like how I did.

17 in 2017 items

Finished

I’ve made some notes about these 4 fellas in the first update of my 17 in 2017 project. Even if you don’t care for these kind of panning projects, just remember that the Nivea makeup wipes suck and you can definitely buy something better. Maybe even the Guardian brands ones are better I should try those out.

I am also destashing my Revlon lipstick, my Clinique Chubby Stick for eyes and my MyScheming charcoal mask (which I tried one last time on Sunday. It got a lot out on my chin, but only the basic stuff on my nose. The hardcore fellas are still there).

For the rest of the items, I’ll go in order of how I use them everyday.

Dental care

teeth

Pearlie White Chlor-Rinse Antiseptic Mouth Rinse Plus – I got this first bottle when I went to the Paragon dentist for the first time last year to check on my teeth and she said that the wisdom teeth were causing gum infection near my molars since I couldn’t brush so deep to get the minuscule bits of food out. This was to stop the gum infection (that was in the early stages) and I guess it works since my gums have been doing great since then BUT. There is a huge but (hehh). This is a chlorhexidine mouthwash, which stains your teeth. Yes, you read it right. It will stain your teeth. My teeth became insanely yellow the first two weeks I used it and I was so shocked. The last time my teeth were close to that yellow was after I removed my braces. And the longer I used it some of the yellow stains started to turn brown… pretty much like long-term hardcore smoker teeth. Actually I know long-term hardcore smokers with better teeth.

I’m not going to lie, it did affect my confidence because my teeth didn’t look good. But I had to use it because I was going to go through the wisdom teeth extraction and I didn’t want something to screw up because my gums were shit. Using this and the Fluocarli toothpaste pictured was such a bad time, after I switched back to Darlie my teeth looked better. If you Google chlorhexidine mouthwash, you’ll find out that the stains are a side effect that can only be fully removed if you go to the dentist. Which I am only going to in June. I’m finishing up my second one (which I got after the extraction), but I am definitely not going to buy this again unless I really need to. | Rating: 3/5 (because it helped my dental health)

Fluocarli Freeze Cool Toothpaste – This toothpaste claims to immediately re-harden enamel and prolongs protection against plaque acid. I can’t confirm either claim seeing how this did practically nothing for me. It doesn’t have a minty flavour so a plus point if you don’t like the standard minty flavour many toothpastes have, but I feel like you might be better off buying other toothpaste. It doesn’t really help with stains, I didn’t feel like my breath was pretty fresh after brushing… yeah I can’t recommend this. | Rating: 1/5 

Shower products

shower

Soap & Glory Rich & Foamous Shower & Bath Body Wash – This smelt so good! The smell also lingers on your skin after the shower, and my skin felt nice and soft. I really like it, if I find it in London I’m definitely buying a full size | Rating: 4.5/5

Bloom and Blossom Bath and Shower Gel – This is a line from the UK that prides itself for being all natural, got this in the Lookfantastic box I bought back in November. According to their website, all their products are paraben-free, SLS-free, no synthetic fragrances or colours – making it completely safe for expectant mothers to use their products. I think that’s great for people with super sensitive skin or those who want their products to be as natural as possible. For me, it was unnerving to move from the sweet-smelling Rich & Foamous to this shower gel that literally has no scent. It is the weirdest thing. I can see how some people will absolutely love this but it’s just so strange for me to use a shower gel with no scent. Aside from that, it does a good job as a shower gel. | Rating: 3/5

Soap & Glory Smoothie Star Breakfast Scrub – Another product that smelt so damn good. Even a month after using this up if I open up the tub I can still smell it. This sugar-based scrub really does scrub well, I do feel that my skin is smoother after using it. However, I get a few bumps appearing here and there on my body over the next few days after I use this. Not enough to be alarmed, but I rarely get body acne nowadays that I don’t know if I just haven’t been exfoliating enough and my body is in shock or this product isn’t suitable for me. On the fence about repurchasing because aside from that it was a good scrub – Rating: 3.5/5 

Face

face

First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser – I got this after so much researching online because I felt that Cetaphil wasn’t really cleansing my face anymore. I felt like there was still a layer of something after washing and I wanted to try a new cleanser but I had to make sure that wasn’t going to full on break me out. A lot of cleansers I had used before Cetaphil screwed up my skin, and I was using Cetaphil for I think 3-4 years because I was afraid to try something that was going to break me out like crazy again. If I didn’t start to have have that tacky feeling I would probably still be on Cetaphil.

So I went online, checked out the Paula’s Choice website and read a ton of reviews and finally decided to purchase the deluxe size of this face cleanser (part of a set, I was eyeing the other 2 products in it as well). I used this initially with a few other new products and looking back I don’t know why I thought it was a good idea. It screwed up my skin quite a bit, but after I cut down a few things there and there my skin cooled down a lot. Based on the 2+ months of use I got from this cleanser that wasn’t marred by other products, it is a decent cleanser. Sometimes my skin felt a little tight after washing my face but mostly it reminded me a lot of Cetaphil. And if the results are similar to Cetaphil… then I might as well purchase Cetaphil, you know? It’s not bad, but I don’t think this is the cleanser I want to settle on. | Rating: 3/5 

Lotions

lotions

Simple Kind to Skin Hydrating Light Moisturizer – I don’t know what the hell is going on but I have decided that with the exception of the Simple cleansing wipes I just cannot use anything from this brand. I have heard so many people love it and rave about it and it’s supposed to be for sensitive skin but every single foray into this brand has ravaged my skin. I’m not even being dramatic – as a teenager I tried their oil-balancing exfoliating wash? My face broke out so bad like it was having some sort of allergic reaction. Used my friend’s Simple cleanser at a sleepover? Boom! Pimples. Last year I bought the eye makeup remover? Felt like there was an oily layer on my skin. And now, this moisturizer that I bought to get free shipping? Painful.

My skin, while picky af, has definitely calmed down a lot since my teenage days. Pimples are still popping but not as often, I’m less of an oily mess, and since I started using intense hydrating moisturizers the dry patches on my cheeks are gone. So my skin’s doing pretty ok. I figured since I’m now in my mid-20s, a light moisturizer at most would just cause my dry patches to come back and I’ll just whack on the serum on those parts, right?

WRONG. This moisturizer. Broke. Me. Out. Like I was 15 again. It wasn’t just closed comedones (which I still get a lot of), it was full on painful pimples. Appearing everywhere. My cheeks, my forehead, my chin. They were huge and red and here I was frantically trying to cover them up with my foundation because they looked so bad. I was panicking because my skin was doing okay until I stupidly introduced 3 new products almost at the same time – the First Aid Beauty cleanser, this, and the IT Cosmetics Confidence in a Cream at night (that’s a whole other story). I decided to cut the IT cream first, not much difference. I cut this, switching it with my Clinique moisturizer (that wasn’t the same moisturizer that I used previously either so I was really praying that it didn’t make everything worse), and my skin slowly went back to normal. I slowly reintroduced the IT cream into my night-time routine and there were not a lot of problems.

Culprit found. I used whatever was left as my upper body moisturizer. It’s a shitty body moisturizer. Would never repurchase, and will never buy anything from Simple (aside from their wipes) | Rating: 0.5/5

Vaseline Total Moisture Nourishing Lotion – The last of the many backups I’ve had since… 2014? 2015? I used to love this lotion to death back in uni, it worked so well for me. Since I started working and being exposed to air-con for much longer amounts of time, it hasn’t been working as well. Being pretty old could have contributed to it not working too well, maybe in the future I would buy one – and just one! not 5 – to try again. And hopefully it will work, because it’s like $2 for one of these at Guardian it’s so affordable. | Rating: 3/5

Daiso Olive Hand Cream – My friend bought this for me because I use hand cream pretty often at work. It’s okay for a $2 hand cream, I also use it on my legs when they get too dry and itchy in the office. It had a weird scent though, like a fake olive scent. It was just weird. I wouldn’t repurchase because I have many other hand creams I prefer. | Rating: 2/5

Makeup

makeup

Clinique Chubby Stick in Mega Melon – My all time favourite lipstick, the one that I’ve been using regularly since 2013. This is probably the only year that I haven’t started using a new one yet because I’m trying to use up other lip products…but who am I kidding I will break out a new one for Europe, because these things save my dry ass chapped lips. This is like my fourth empty Mega Melon. I freaking love these. | Rating: 5/5

W7 Aye Aye Captain Eyeliner – I am throwing this away because this has become a consistency that’s hard to apply. It’s thick but it’s also watery. It makes no sense. It ends up all over my eyelashes. It flakes if I rub my eyes just the tiniest amount. Most importantly, my eyes were in bad shape after I used this a few times in a week. I had to blink a lot and for about a week I couldn’t open my eyes fully it was kind of scary. I really think it’s gone bad. When it was good, I only used it a couple of times so I can’t really give a rating for this. I remember liking it because it was very black but I also had a lot of time to do my eyeliner when I did use it. So for me it’s not very practical for a day-to-day eyeliner.

Cotton Pads

cottons

Guardian Facial Cotton Pads – This is what I use to remove my makeup, I buy these when they’re on sale (which seems to be pretty often these days). They work fine. | Rating: 4/5

Masks

masks

I’ve started using masks on Saturdays as a quick pamper time. My skin also feels a lot calmer after most masks. I am aware that a sheet mask a week doesn’t do much, but they are pretty addictive.

The masks that didn’t leave much of an impression were the Mediheal H.D.P. Pore-Stamding Charcoal-Mineral Mask, the Beauty Idea Diary Apple Polyphenols Comprehensive Whitening Mask and the Sephora Job’s Tears Invisilk Mask. Fun to use, nothing bad nothing great.

Beauty Idea Diary Mandelic Acid Skin Renewal Flawless Mask – Y’all this is LEGIT. I expected just another round of ‘plump skin! less redness! for a night!’ sort of results but imagine my shock when MY PORES WERE GONE?? This mask says that it tightens pores and it full on delivers. Yes, by morning time the pores were back but if I can use this before an event and my pores are missing why not? | Rating: 4.5/5

Freeman Avocado and Oatmeal Clay Mask – Pros: This pack gave me 4 masks. That’s like a month’s worth of masks. That’s incredible. That’s super value for money (this is $2, I think). My face did feel cleansed after using this. Cons: When this dries, my face itches like crazy. I thought I was having an allergic reaction when this happened to me the 2nd week I used it and I ran to the sink to wash my face. My skin also does look a little red after using this mask so I dunno, maybe I can’t use it. The itchiness is enough to turn me off. | Rating: 2.5/5

Sephora Shea Lip Mask – I paid $4 for this. My lips felt plumper and softer after this mask, I did sort of look in the mirror and pouted a little if there was a difference… and that’s it. I can’t justify paying $4 for this. Unless you want plumper lips for +/-4 hours. Your lips don’t even stay that soft for a day.| Rating: 1/5 

The Real MVP

tiger-balm

Tiger Balm Plaster – this saves me during my period/PMS when the backache/cramps decide to make an appearance. When the backache/cramps are so bad to the point that I can’t sleep, I slap this on and I can sleep like a baby. Will forever repurchase | Rating: 5.5/5 

Leave a Reply

