Finish 17 in 2017 update 1

I’ve decided to do quarterly updates for this because the year is too hectic to do monthly updates. Time has zoomed by so quickly and it is already April…which also means audit coming soon *panics*

I started this project with the aim to finish as much as possible because I feel like it’s very wasteful to not use up things that you buy, but I have realised along the way that it really, really sucks to use something that you don’t like at all. A lipstick that bleeds and makes your teeth look yellow is not going to be something that you reach for and is not going to make you happy. I put on makeup to make me look and feel good, so forcing myself to use up something just for the sake of using it up is the complete opposite of why I wear makeup.

With that in mind, I’ve decided that if I don’t like using/wearing something and I have tried different ways of using it and it still doesn’t work for me I will not be using it anymore. Life’s too short, I have things that I actually enjoy using and I’ll just take it as a lesson to actually do some research before buying something and to use it when it’s still good.

For this update, I’ll start off with products I finished, followed by products I’m decluttering (and what I’m replacing them with) and finally the progress of the rest.

Finished

Finished

Nivea Makeup Removal Wipes – Last few wipes were barely wet, I wasn’t sure if they were removing all my makeup. Towards the end they smelt kinda funky too. Would not repurchase.

Revlon Colourstay Foundation in 110 Warm Golden – I don’t know if they’ve changed the formulation when they added the pump to the packaging but this was really great. I usually don’t use a lot of it at one go for medium coverage but it is definitely buildable. I wouldn’t encourage keeping this for 3 years though because during the last week of use it was really patchy on my nose and between my eyebrows, something that didn’t happen before. Would repurchase if I wasn’t intending to stop using foundation.

Palmer’s Massage Lotion for Stretch Marks – Didn’t see a difference in my stretch marks but I definitely enjoyed using this. My skin could absorb this surprisingly easily, it kept my skin moisturized and I like the smell. Not sure if I’d repurchase this one specifically, but would definitely try other lotions from the Palmer’s line.

Hask Macadamia Oil Hair Treatment – Did the job, I got 5 uses out of it. However the shampoo did give my dandruff so I’ll try other brands.

Decluttering

My Scheming Blackhead Removing Mask – Probably not a good idea to use this on the regular, I don’t know if it’s just in my mind but I feel alarmed when the pores don’t close after I use the toner. I have a friend who wants this, so I’m passing it on to her. I didn’t purchase this myself but I wouldn’t repurchase.| Replacement – Caudalie Moisturizing Mask and Glycolic Peel Mask – I got this in a set during the Sephora Black Friday Sale last year. I’m trying to make it a point to use products when they’re still good and new, and I’m down to my last sheet mask so I’m excited and curious to try these. Goal: Finish

replacement1

Clinique Chubby Stick for Eyes in Ample Amber – This fella dried and kept falling out of its tube when I was using it…and then one day in Feb it fell right out straight on the floor. The floor that I hadn’t swept in a week. Yeah, definitely not going near my eyes after that. Seeing how its $24 and is kind of patchy and creases, would not repurchase. | Replacement – Colourpop Super Shock Cheek in Between The Sheets – This is my first cream (can you call it cream? I guess so) blush and I’m surprised that I enjoy it so much considering how I have combo/oily skin and I stay in a crazy humid country. This blush is still on my cheeks when I come home from work. My only issue is that it’s definitely not the same colour as the product shown on the site. I was expecting something a little more like a peachy-pink shade but on me it is straight up pink. If this was the actual shade on the site it would probably be my favourite blush ever. I’ve thrown this in because I’ve heard that Colourpop products dry up or go bad pretty quickly. Goal: Finish 1/3

replacement2

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in 415 Pink in the Afternoon – This was the product that made me decide that I would not force myself to use something I didn’t enjoy. This swatched on my hand is dramatically different than what it looks like on my lips. On my hand it is a pretty rose but on my lips it’s practically neon. It clashes with my skin tone, it’s pretty patchy, moves around throughout the day and makes the lines on my lips super obvious (ridiculous since it’s not a matte lipstick). I think the product isn’t as good as it was before… what I do know is that I definitely didn’t like it when I used it the last 3-4 times. Definitely would not repurchase. | Replacement – Colourpop Lippie Stick in Konichiwa – I had seen this on Morgan of TheBeautyBreakdown and I thought it was a pretty cute pink. Didn’t think about undertones etc so this is a cool pink on me. Not cool to the point that I wouldn’t wear it but seeing how most of my clothes are warm colours I don’t use this very often. Again, putting this into the project because I don’t want it to go bad. Goal: Finish

replacement3

And the rest

I’ll only be talking about the products that I used for the past 3 months (yes, some I didn’t even touch. Whoops.)

Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation in 170 Natural Beige
Goal: Finish

revlon-foundation

This has the tiniest bit of progress because I was finishing up the other Revlon foundation. And then when I got back from Krabi I was mad tan so for 2 and a half weeks I switched to my Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer that BROKE ME OUT like I was a 14 year old who has to do PE and didn’t wash her face for a week straight. Yes that’s right. I spent a shit ton of money on a tinted moisturizer that is supposedly oil-free and has SPF 20 because I wanted to do some good to my skin and instead I got a forehead full of bumps and screwed up cheeks. But that’s another story. Back to this foundation – it’s always smelled a little weird, but it’s still doing fine. I’m pretty sure I can make a lot of progress in the next 3 months.

Sleek Contouring and Blush Palette 
Goal: Hit pan on bronzer

sleek-bronzer

I’ve been using the bronzer almost every day that I wear makeup (that is 5-6 times a week) but somehow there’s only a little more dip. If you like the product that’s a real bonus, a real value for money. I like it so I’m glad I’m really getting my money’s worth, but as someone working hard to see that pan it’s challenging. Recently I’ve started using more eye makeup so I’ve been using this as a transition shade in my crease as well.

Silkygirl Perfect Sharp Eyeliner 
Goal: Finish

This is such a frustrating product. I don’t mind if an eyeliner isn’t very black but this makes it look like I don’t know how to apply eyeliner very well. You can actually see the eyeshadow underneath it if you don’t go over it at least 3 times. I’ll try to keep using it but it might get the boot soon.

Vaseline Lip Therapy in Rosy Lips 
Goal: Finish

vaseline

This keeps my lips soft at night even when I’m mouth-breathing (thanks, flu) or if I turn on the air-con. I also use it on some Fridays or weekends when I want a fuss-free look. Enjoying it so far and I’m certain I can finish this by the end of the year.

Dior Addict Lipstick in 871 Power
Goal: Finish

dior-lipstick

This has been what’s on my lips almost every day at work. I got a little sick of it for a while so I stopped for about a week and now I use it about 3-4 days a week depending on my mood. I’ve gotten into the habit of reapplying too, previously I only applied lipstick in the morning before I leave the house and maybe after work if I’m going out. I really like the formula but wearing this colour almost everyday has taught me that this is more of a ‘once a week’ shade and not an everyday colour for me so if I were to repurchase I’d choose a different shade.

Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in Heftiest Hibiscus 
Initial Goal: Use half | New Goal: Use 1/3 

I’ve used this once in the 3 months, and it was such a good lip day (if I didn’t smile widely ahahah). I was worried that it would transfer everywhere because it’s a moisturizing formula but it didn’t. I now know that I won’t be using this everyday so I’ve switched my goal to be something a little more achievable.

Palmer’s Hair Removal Cream 
Goal: Finish

palmers-cream

I was using this religiously for the first 3 weeks and that’s how I discovered that I definitely cannot use this on my calves regularly. It does the same thing Veet did to me back in 2013 and now I have insanely dry patches that were extremely itchy but they’re better now that I’ve slapped on every lotion I own plus oil. It works fine on the upper leg, armpits and bikini line so I will be using this for those parts…and break out the Nair when my leg hair starts to get out of control.

Rich Argan Oil Elixir  
Goal: Finish

rich-hair-oil

I cannot wait for this to finish.

Overall thoughts for first quarter

Glad to already have 4 things down. I knew all 4 weren’t going to last that long, but it still feels good to cross those out. I’ve learnt that the lip colour I would wear all the time would be a ‘my lips but better’ type of shade, certainly not something bright and bold or a cooler toned pink.

Here are my goals for the next update:

  1. Use up 1/2 of the remaining Rich Argan Oil Elixir
  2. Use half of Colourpop Konichiwa
  3. Use both Caudalie masks at least once

 

 

3 thoughts on “Finish 17 in 2017 update 1

Leave a Reply

