Going on a no-buy

We are close to one year to go (which confuses me greatly because work-wise the past 2 months have been LONG but wedding-wise where did the 2 months go??) and that means that I have to actually save up and not go around throwing my money at things. My parents have generously offered to pay for the food on my side since the bulk of the guests are theirs… like I will not know 1/2 of them but they will know me and they will all say “oh dah besar! Dulu kecik aje duduk atas pangku mak dia. Kuat nangis pulak tu!” and my crybaby tendencies will be exposed – now that I think about it he hasn’t seen me cry watching a Bollywood movie time to change that – but I still got to pay for some things.

I have been toying around with the idea of having a videographer for the nikah. Previously I felt it was an added expense that wasn’t necessary; if ada bagus, takde takpe. He felt that a wedding video was kind of wasteful because it was just to show off your wedding to people. More likely that you will look at your wedding photos instead of going through your wedding video in the years to come. When he put it that way I had to agree. I don’t think I will watch my wedding video after the 2nd anniversary and it would be a waste. We could be spending the money on something else.

But then I was watching videos of nikahs to see which kadi I might prefer (and err which one to avoid? Not into chatty kadis as much as they mean well) and I thought, “Actually it would be kind of nice to have a video of the nikah.” A video of me becoming someone’s wife while ugly crying with mascara everywhere and my husband trying to salvage my makeup while laughing at me. The editor will probably make it look romantic. We might actually look presentable.

That’s the first reason why I decided to stop throwing money at things. The 2nd reason is because I will be going to Europe with my friends in April and I know I will spend on so. many. things. My last stop is London. So dangerous for my bank account. I will definitely end up in Primark and Boots. RIP my money.

With those two big looming things in mind, I have been reading the Makeup Rehab thread on Reddit (so helpful!) and I have decided to go on a no-buy for March and the first half of April. For this round, a no-buy means I will not be purchasing any makeup, clothes, shoes or bags. I can feel the struggle already.

I will allow myself to make these planned purchases:

  1. Sports shoes/hiking shoes for Europe (my sneakers are DEAD I need to throw them out)
  2. Heattech top, if the weather is still cold by mid-April
  3. Sunblock

I’ve gone through my skincare and makeup; there is nothing that I need to get anytime soon. Everything has backups except concealer but there is no way I can finish my concealer in 2 months unless I use it all over my body everyday.

Shoes and clothes are a lot more tempting but I just got three new flats and a cute cardigan so unless I find the perfect pair of nude heels in March I will practice extreme restraint.

Okay time to use that band discipline that I’ve thrown aside for years

Leave a Reply

